Women’s Tennis Looks for Seventh NEC Title This Weekend

SOMERSET, N.J. – The Quinnipiac University women's tennis team is in search of its seventh NEC Tournament Championship this weekend, as the Bobcats open play on Friday, April 19 in West Windsor, N.J. The Bobcats earned the second seed of the 11-team field and will take on either #7 Mount St. Mary's or #10 Wagner College in the quarterfinals at the Mercer County Tennis Center.

The Tournament
FDU and first year head coach Jonathan Buchman will look to make it back-to-back titles on the women's side. The Knights finished the regular season a perfect 4-0 against NEC rivals with the biggest win coming against rival Quinnipiac back on March 30 in a rematch of the 2012 title tilt. The Knights won on that day by a 4-3 final score in Hamden. The Bobcats, who have won six NEC crowns, are seeded second, followed by LIU Brooklyn and Bryant in the third and fourth spots.

Women's Seeds
1. Fairleigh Dickinson
2. Quinnipiac
3. LIU Brooklyn
4. Bryant
5. Sacred Heart
6. Saint Francis U
7. Mount St. Mary's
8. Robert Morris
9. Monmouth
10. Wagner
11. St. Francis Brooklyn

Feed-in matches begin on Thursday at 11:00 am. Quarterfinal play takes place on Friday, followed by the semifinals on Saturday and the men's and women's title matches on Sunday. Admission is free to the event.

QU's Line-Up (Record in Conference)
#1 – Rachel Cantor: (4-1 Singles / 5-0 Doubles)
#2 – Jacqueline Raynor: (5-0 Singles / 5-0 Doubles)
#3 – Sarah Viebrock: (5-0 Singles / 5-0 Doubles)
#4 – Michelle Dassa: 3-1 Singles / 5-0 Doubles)
#5 – Mary Chupa: (2-2 Singles / 4-1 Doubles)
#6 – Ariana Launie: (3-1 Singles / 4-1 Doubles)

2013 Northeast Conference Tennis Championships
at Mercer County Tennis Center
West Windsor, NJ

Thursday, April 18

Women's Feed-In Matches - 11:00 am start
#6 Saint Francis U vs. #11 St. Francis Brooklyn
#7 Mount St. Mary's vs. #10 Wagner
#8 Robert Morris vs. #9 Monmouth

Friday, April 19

Women's Quarterfinals - 9:00 am start
#1 Fairleigh Dickinson vs. #8 RMU/#9 MU
#2 Quinnipiac vs. #7 MSM/#10 WC
#3 LIU Brooklyn vs. #6 SFU/#11 SFC
#4 Bryant vs. #5 Sacred Heart

Saturday, April 20

Women's Semifinal Matches - 9:00 am start

Sunday, April 21

Women's Championship Match (10:00 am start)