U.S.A. Women's Olympic Ice Hockey Team's 8-2 Win Against ECAC All-Stars Draws Record Crowd

HAMDEN, Conn. - The U.S.A Women's Olympic team's 8-2 win against the ECAC Hockey All-Stars drew a record crowd of 3,809 at Quinnipiac University's TD Bank Sports Center in Hamden, Conn. The event marked the best attendance record that any New England women's ice hockey event has ever collected. The total also ranks third amongst the best attendance figures ever held at the TD Bank Sports Center.

"The venue is outstanding," said USA Hockey's Women's Ice Hockey Director, Michele Amidon. "I watched from a different spot each period and each area provided a great view and great sound of the game. I like how the arena is NHL-sized and the seating areas and standing room were great for fan interaction. The facilities throughout the arena were incredible and will practically sell itself to possible recruits. Overall, it was a great night of hockey and we were happy to bring our program here."

Team USA holds many local ties, with ten different players either living or playing in New England at one point in their lives. Two players, Julie Chu and Caitlin Cahow, grew up in Connecticut with Chu hailing from Fairfield and Cahow from Branford. The ECAC squad boasted three players who currently play in Connecticut, as Yale sent juniors Bray Ketchum and Jackee Snikeris to play for the All-Stars and Quinnipiac's own senior forward Janine Duffy (Toronto, Ontario) represented the Bobcats on the ECAC team.

"I was very impressed with the arena," Women's Olympic Team Head Coach Mark Johnson said, "The crowd was excellent today, and the facility provided a great experience for them. It was great for our East Coast players to come back home and to allow parents, friends, and past coaches to see them play again. It was an important day for everyone involved and it was a great stop on our tour."

Team USA boosted its Qwest Tour record to 4-3. The team has three more stops along their tour before they head to Vancouver, British Columbia for the 2010 Winter Olympics.