Quinnipiac Men's Ice Hockey Places League-Best 26 Student-Athletes On ECAC Hockey All-Academic Team

The Quinnipiac University men's ice hockey team placed 26 student-athletes on the 2014 ECAC Hockey All-Academic Team, as announced by the league office on Tuesday, July 15. Quinnipiac's 26 student-athletes lead ECAC Hockey, while it is also a program best. 

Players are eligible for the All-Academic team if they earn a cumulative grade point average of at least a 3.00 on a 4.00 scale or have a GPA over 3.00 over the past three semesters. Five different Bobcat seniors – Cory Hibbeler, Connor Jones, Kellen Jones, Zack Tolkinen and Brooks Robinson – received their fourth-straight ECAC Hockey All-Academic honor, while senior Jordan Samuels-Thomas received his third consecutive honor in as many years.

Junior co-captain Dan Federico was named to the list for the third time in three seasons while co-captain Matthew Peca qualified for the first time in his career. Bryce Van Brabant – who became the first Quinnipiac player to appear in a NHL game, in April – earned his second consecutive honor.

Sophomores Soren Jonzzon, Michael Garteig, Tom Hilbrich, Matthew Lemire, Zach Luczyk, Jacob Meyers and Travis St. Denis earned their second honor in their second seasons, while freshmen Sam Anas, Tim Clifton, Connor Clifton, Joe Fiala, Brady Rouleau, Thomas Schutt, Derek Smith, Brayden Sherbin and Devon Toews were all named in their first year in Hamden. 


Name Class GPA Major
Derek Smith Fr. 3.96 Finance
Soren Jonzzon So. 3.91 Biomedical Sciences
Thomas Hilbrich So. 3.79 Marketing
Daniel Federico Jr. 3.75 Finance
Joseph Fiala Fr. 3.74 Business
Jordan Samuels-Thomas Gr. 3.70 Master's in Journalism
Kellen Jones Gr. 3.65 Master's of Business Administration
Bryce Van Brabant Jr. 3.65 Finance
Zachary Luczyk So. 3.58 Criminal Justice
Connor Clifton Fr. 3.55 Engineering
Connor Jones Gr. 3.55 Master's in Journalism
Brady Rouleau Fr. 3.53 Business
Brayden Sherbinin Fr. 3.50 Business
Brooks Robinson Gr. 3.48 Master's of Business Administration
Devon Toews Fr. 3.46 Accounting
Sam Anas Fr. 3.42 Business
Zach Tolkinen Sr. 3.31 Finance
Michael Garteig So. 3.25 Marketing
Cory Hibbeler Sr. 3.24 International Business
Travis St. Denis So. 3.23 Finance
Thomas Schutt Fr. 3.18 Business
Tim Clifton Fr. 3.15 Engineering
Jacob Meyers So. 3.15 International Business
Matthew Lemire So. 3.14 Marketing
Kevin Tiefenwerth So. 3.01 Business
Matthew Peca Jr. 3.00 Marketing