Quinnipiac Men's Ice Hockey Hosts Annual Awards Banquet

HAMDEN, Conn. – Quinnipiac men's ice hockey head coach Rand Pecknold announced senior assistant captains Connor and Kellen Jones as the team's Most Valuable Players at the program's annual awards banquet at the TD Bank Sports Center in Hamden, Conn.

In addition to Connor and Kellen Jones sharing the MVP honors for the second time in three years – after the twin brothers from Montrose, British Columbia shared the award in 2011-12 – Pecknold also announced Sam Anas (Potomac, Maryland) as the team's Rookie of the Year; senior captain Cory Hibbeler (St. Charles, Missouri) as the recipient of the Coaches' Award; Bryce Van Brabant (Morinville, Ontario) as recipient of the 7th Player Award and Soren Jonzzon (Mountain View, California) as the Academic Award winner.

The Jones brothers capped off an incredible run at Quinnipiac when they signed American Hockey League (AHL) contracts with the Oklahoma City Barons, the top affiliate of the NHL's Edmonton Oilers, on Apr. 3, 2014.

Kellen appeared in 40 games as a senior, scoring 42 points with 18 goals and 24 assists. He became the 21st player in Quinnipiac's Division I history to reach the 100-point mark, and 35th all-time, after finishing his career with 54 goals and 71 assists for a total of 125 points in 157 games played.

Connor appeared in 40 games as a senior and had 38 points with 15 goals and 23 assists. He also posted a +15 plus-minus rating. He became the 20th player in Quinnipiac's Division I history to reach the 100-point mark, and 34th all-time, after finishing his career with 49 goals and 80 assists for a total of 129 points in 156 games played.

The brothers were each nominated for the Hobey Baker Memorial Award as seniors. They were named the team's Co-Most Valuable Players as sophomores. Connor was named to the ECAC second team and chosen as Rookie of the Year by his teammates as a freshman.

Anas received the Bobcats' top rookie honor after one of the most successful first-year campaigns in program history. Anas received the Hockey Commissioners Association Tim Taylor Award as the NCAA Division I National Rookie of the Year and the George C. Carens Award as the top rookie in New England while also being named the CollegeHockeyNews.com, USCHO.com and ECAC Hockey Rookie of the Year. He was an ECAC Hockey All-Rookie and Second Team honoree after becoming the only freshman in NCAA Division I hockey to reach 40 points this season.

Hibbeler is this season's recipient of the Coaches Award, which is given to the student-athlete who exemplifies everything that Quinnipiac men's hockey embodies. Hibbeler scored five goals and assisted on seven more for 12 points in 40 as a senior captain for the Bobcats, and pushed his career goals to 18 goals and 16 assists for 34 points. More impressive would be the 133 games that Hibbeler played in after grabbing the last roster spot as a freshman. In his time with the program, he has proven to be one of the hardest working players on the ice, and an impactful leader in the locker room.

The Bobcats' 7th Player Award is awarded to an individual who has shown the most growth as a member of the men's ice hockey team in his time at Quinnipiac. Van Brabant earned the award after a break-out year for the Bobcats that saw him reach career-highs  in goals (15) and points (22), while establishing himself as one of the top power forwards in college hockey. For his incredible junior season, Van Brabant signed an NHL contract with the Calgary Flames, becoming the second player in program history to dress for an NHL game.

Jonzzon earned the Academic Award after posting a team-high 3.87 grade-point average while majoring in biomedical sciences. 

In addition to the night's award winners, including Hibbeler and the Jones brothers, Pecknold also recognized seniors Jordan Samuels-Thomas (West Hartford, Conn.), Brooks Robinson (Duncan, British Columbia), Zach Tolkinen (Lino Lakes, Minnesota)