Quinnipiac Men's Ice Hockey Head Coach Rand Pecknold Named New England Hockey Writers Association Coach of the Year

Quinnipiac men's ice hockey head coach Rand Pecknold has been named the Clark Hodder Division I Coach of the Year by the New England Hockey Writers Association, named after the former Harvard head coach. Under Pecknold's leadership, Quinnipiac is currently No. 1 in the USCHO.com Division I Poll, the USA Today/USA Hockey Magazine Poll and also clinched the No. 1 seed in the NCAA Tournament. Quinnipiac, to date, is 29-7-5. Pecknold is the first ECAC Hockey coach to win the award since Tim Taylor in 1998. 

Pecknold was recently named the ECAC Hockey Tim Taylor Coach of the Year after leading the Bobcats to the 2013 Cleary Cup, for the ECAC Hockey Regular-Season Championship, for the first time in program history. Pecknold also led the program to the most wins in program history (29), its second NCAA Tournament berth and the program's first NCAA Frozen Four appearance all-time. 

In addition, Quinnipiac posted a program-record 21-game unbeaten streak while also posting a program-best record of 17-2-3 in ECAC Hockey, cruising to a double-digit finish ahead of the league's second-place team. It was the first time in the league's history that such a feat was completed.The Bobcats rank first nationally in goals-against average (1.63) and penalty kill (90.6) while also posting the top winning percentage in NCAA Division I men's ice hockey (.768).

Clark Hodder Division I Coach of the Year All-Time Honorees
2013 Rand Pecknold Quinnipiac
2012 Norm Bazin Umass Lowell
2011 Mark Dennehy Merrimack
2010 Mark Dennehy Merrimack
2009 Greg Cronin Northeastern
2008 Dick Umile New Hampshire
2007 Donald Cahoon Massachusetts
2006 Jack Parker Boston University
2005 Jack Parker Boston University
2004 Jerry York Boston College
2003 Don Cahoon Massachusetts
2002 Dick Umile New Hampshire
2001 Paul Pooley Providence
2000 Jack Parker Boston University
1999 Richard Umile New Hampshire
1998 Tim Taylor Yale
1997 Ron Anderson Merrimack
1996 Bruce Crowder Lowell
1995 Shawn Walsh Maine
1994 Bruce Crowder Lowell
1993 Shawn Walsh Maine
1992 Tim Taylor Yale
1991 Richard Umile New Hampshire
1990 Bob Kullen New Hampshire
1989 Mike McShane Providence
1988 Shawn Walsh Maine
1987 Bill Riley Lowell
1986 Jack Parker Boston University
1985 Len Ceglarski Boston College
1984 Jack Parker Boston University
1983 Bill Cleary Harvard
1982 Fernie Flaman Northeastern
1981 Jack Semlar Maine
1980 Lou Lamoriello Providence
1979 Charlie Holt New Hampshire
1978 Jack Parker Boston University
1977 Charlie Holt New Hampshire
1976 George Crowe Dartmouth
1975 Jim Cross Vermont
1974 Bill Cleary Harvard
1973 Len Ceglarski Boston College
1972 Jack Kelley Boston University
1971 Ralph Weiland Harvard
1970 Sid Watson Bowdoin
1969 Sid Watson Bowdoin
1968 Rube Bjorkman New Hampshire
1967 Jack Kelley Boston University
1966 Jack Kelley Boston University
1965 Jim Fullerton Brown
1964 Tom Eccleston Providence
1963 Jim Fullerton Brown
1962 Jack Kelley Colby
1961 Ralph Weiland Harvard
1960 Jim Fullerton Brown
1959 Jack Kelley Colby
1958 Jim Fullerton Brown
1957 Ralph Weiland Harvard
1956 Jimmy Bell Northeastern
1955 Ralph Weiland Harvard
1954 No Award Given  
1953 John Kelley Boston College
1952 Herb Gallagher Northeastern
1951 Eddie Jeremiah Dartmouth

This year, Quinnipiac swept a program-best seven teams while also posting a 14-0-0 record against ranked opponents as well as an 11-1-2 record on the road.

Pecknold is currently in his 19th year as the Bobcats' head coach and carries a 366-237-66 career record, good for the nine most wins among active NCAA Division I coaches. 

Pecknold was previously honored as the Atlantic Hockey Coach of the Year in 2005 and is a two-time Spencer Penrose National Coach of the Year finalist (2002, 2005).

This season will mark the 15th year in NCAA Division I men's ice hockey for Quinnipiac, all under the leadership of Pecknold. The Bobcats have yet to post a losing season in the last 17 years. In addition, the Bobcats' 2012-13 season will mark the 12th time in Pecknold's 19-year career in which Quinnipiac has posted 20 wins, which have all come at the Division I level. 

Quinnipiac will head to Pittsburgh, Pa. to compete in its first NCAA Frozen Four in program history. The top-ranked, top-seeded Bobcats will take on St. Cloud State on Thursday, Apr. 11 at 8 p.m. at the CONSOL Energy Center.