Head Coach Becca Main and 2001 Quinnipiac Field Hockey Team Inducted Into Athletics Hall of Fame

Quinnipiac field hockey head coach Becca Main and her 2001 team were part of the Quinnipiac Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2012, inducted on Nov. 10, 2012. Main is one of 11 coaches in Quinnipiac history to be inducted into the Hall of Fame while her 2001 squad became the eighth team to be honored.

In addition to the induction ceremony, the 2001 team and the Class of 2012 inductees were honored at the Quinnipiac men's ice hockey team's game against Cornell later that evening. The following morning, more than 30 field hockey alumni took to the field at the Quinnipiac Field Hockey Turf Complex for the annual alumni game. The game was played in two formats, as the current Bobcats' took on the alumni team, before the alumni faced off against each other in a second game.

Former student-athletes participating in the game included Christine Grady, Amanda Delouise, Ashley Gradwell, Nicole Lewis, Megan Dahle, Courtney Ryan, Heather Cady, Jackie Langenstein, Jan Puleo, Megan McCreedy, Karyn Grimaldi, Amy Cunniff, Sarah Mathers, Cheryl Torino, Tara Thibeault, Erin Begley, Julie Smith, MacKenzie Liptak, Chelsea Osbrey, Julie Champagne, Kristin Crosby, Britney Ewan, Jaime Cassesse, Eileen Gallagher, Maria Malonoski, Kim Cunniff, Meredith Klein, Cate Canetti and Bonnie Shea.

Main has had a storied career as Quinnipiac's only field hockey coach in the program's existence. In addition, Main is credited for starting the women's lacrosse program that has experienced recent success. Main has accumulated 148 wins in her 18 seasons as the Bobcats' head coach. A four-time Coach of the Year, Main led the 2003 team – in addition to the 2001 team – the NEC Tournament Championship and the NCAA Tournament. For her career, she has coached more than 70 all-conference, and 20 all-region players, while also eight major award winners. In addition to their on-field accolades as a result of Main's leadership, several of her former players currently coach at the high school and collegiate levels. At the college ranks, Julie (Smith) Ryan is the head coach at Babson and Jill DiSanti is the assistant coach at Monmouth while current assistants Cheryl (Torino) Canada, Jaime Cassesse and Kim Cunniff all played for Quinnipiac. Eileen (Gallagher) Dunham served as an assistant at Quinnipiac before being named head coach at Cheshire High School. Annmarie (Mangano) Svogun at Cheshire Academy, Britney (Ewan)Milburn, Jaime (Glendening) Robinson at Queensbury (N.H.) all have earned head coaching spots.

The 2001 squad was arguably the greatest field hockey team in Quinnipiac history. That season, the team posted the program record for wins (12), goals scored (59), assists (43) and points (161). The team  featured the NEC Player of the Year in Julie Smith and the 1999 NEC Player of the Year in Sarah Matthers. In addition, the 2001 squad hosted seven All-Northeast Conference selections – a Quinnipiac record – including Smith, Kristin Crosby, Julie Champagne, Heather Cady and Courtney Ryan with First Team honors while Matthers and Jackie Langenstein earned Second Team recognition.

2001 Quinnipiac Field Hockey Roster: Rosemary Bowman, Heather Cady, Julie Champagne, Kristin Crosby, Marisa Davila, Jill DiSanti, Britney Ewan, Jennifer Freese, Eileen Gallagher, Jamie Glendening, Tara Griffiths, Erin Gunn, Heather Hamwey, Amy Hollister, Lacey Johnson, Meredith Klein, Jackie Langenstein, Jennifer Lucich, Sarah Mathers, Loren Montgomery,Christina Nockunas, Chelsea Osbrey,Kelly Proper, Sarah Riley, Courtney Ryan, Rachel Slaiciunas, Julie Smith, Erin Trama and Nina Walker.