Kimberly Cunniff and Nicole Lewis Named To 2011 NEC All-Tournament Team

Field Hockey seniors Kimberly Cunniff (Walpole, Mass.) and Nicole Lewis (East Amherst, N.Y.) were named to the 2011 Northeast Conference All-Tournament Team. Lewis was previously named to the All-Tournament team in 2010.

Cunniff had a banner year that culminated with her selection as the Northeast Conference Defensive Player of the Year award as well as first team honors. She totaled 14 goals and four assists for a career-best 32 points. In doing so, she became just the third player in program history to reach the 30-point mark in a season. Her 14 goals this season are the second most in program history while her 25 career goals rank fourth all-time at Quinnipiac.

Cunniff had her first career hat trick against Lehigh on Sept. 14, that was sandwiched between a goal against nationally-ranked Penn State and Quinnipiac’s first goal in its win against Harvard on Sept. 18, making her the first player in program history to score five consecutive team goals. Cunniff also had a two-goal performance against Siena for her second multiple-goal game of the season.

Lewis had an outstanding year for the Bobcats, as she posted an 11-7 record while ranking among the conference and national leaders in save percentage (.776) and goals-against average (2.57). She completed her senior season in the cage with the fourth most saves in a season (173) in Quinnipiac history.

In a double-overtime, shoot-out victory against Yale, Lewis stopped 19 of 21 shots on goal. She also stopped 12 against nationally-ranked Penn State before posting back-to-back double-digit save performances with 14 against Columbia and 20 against Maine in an overtime loss. She had three straight double-digit save showings against Monmouth (11), Siena (13) and Rider (13) before stopping eight against Sacred Heart in a 5-2 NEC Tournament-clinching victory in the Bobcats' final home game of the season. In a 1-0 NEC Tournament semifinal nail-biter, Lewis stopped 10 of 11 shots on goal. 

All-Time All-NEC Tournament Selections
Year Name
2011 Kimberly Cunniff (Second Team)
Nicole Lewis (Second Team)
2010 Katie Van Nostrand (Second Team)
Nicole Lewis (Second Team)
2009 Megan McCreedy (First Team)
Brandy Longacre (First Team)
Jenna Grossman (First Team)
Bonnie Shea (Second team)
2008 Lauren Hartnett (First Team)
Jenna Grossman (First Team)
Megan Sciascia (Second Team)
2007 Megan Dahle (First Team)
Megan McCreedy (Second Team)
Megan Sciascia (Second Team)
Jenna Grossman (Second Team)
2006 Jaime Cassesse (First Team)
Meghan DeCesaris (First Team)
Jenna Grossman (First Team)
Jennifer Kinchla (Second Team)
Ann Marie Mangano (Second Team)
2005 Danielle Avenoso (First Team)
Jaime Cassesse (First Team)
Kara Weber (Second Team)
2004 Jill DeSanti (Second Team)
2003 Jill DeSanti (First Team)
Erin McKay (First Team)
Meredith Klein (Second Team)
Chelsea Osbrey (Second Team)
Eileen Gallagher (Second Team)
Kara Weber (Second Team)
2002 Chelsea Osbrey (First Team)
Courtney Ryan (First Team)
Jackie Langenstein (First Team)
Danielle Avenoso (Second Team)
Jill DeSanti (Second Team)
Erin McKay (Second Team)
2001 Heather Caby (First Team)
Julie Smith (First Team)
Kristin Crosby (First Team)
Courtney Ryan (First Team)
Julie Champagne (First Team)
Jackie Langenstein (Second Team)
Sarah Mathers (Second Team)  
2000 Catie Canetti (First Team)
Kristin Crosby (First Team)
Courtney Ryan (First Team)
Jamie Glendening (First Team)
Erin Begley (Second Team)
Sarah Mathers (Second Team)
1999 Denice Horsfield  Lauren Labrecque Sarah Mathers