Baseball's Kyle Nisson Named To Northeast Conference Second Team

NORWICH, Conn. – Quinnipiac baseball junior Kyle Nisson (Wallingford, Conn.) was named to the All-Northeast Conference Second Team, as announced at the NEC’s annual banquet on the evening prior to the start of the 2011 NEC Tournament. Nisson is the first catcher to receive All-Northeast Conference honors in Quinnipiac’s Division I history.

The junior catcher continued to show consistency in his second year as the Bobcats’ starting backstop. Nisson hit a team- and personal-best .336 (51-152) while also leading the team with a .399 on-base percentage. Nisson was also hit-by-a-pitch 10 times, ranking him among the national leaders. Additionally, among the seven players on the Bobcats roster to play in at-least 46 games, Nisson led all seven in fewest strikeouts with 10. He also slapped four doubles and scored 17 runs while driving in 21 more.

Nisson was third on the team with 14 multiple-hit games, including one of Quinnipiac’s six four-hit games, while also ranking second with four multiple-RBI games.

Defensive, Nisson was rock-solid behind the plate, posting a .973 field percentage, second on the team among the Bobcats’ three players with more than 200 defensive opportunities. Nisson also managed to throw out 14 would-be base stealers, second most among all Northeast Conference catchers.

Nisson is the 28th player in Quinnipiac’s Division I history to be named to received Northeast Conference honors, in addition to becoming the first catcher in program history to receive all-NEC honors.


Year        Name                         Position               All-NEC Team
1999         Joe Zangari                3B                           First
2000         Joe Zangari                3B                           First
                  Nate Noyes               OF                           First
                  Charles D'Elia          2B                           Second
2002         Charles D'Elia          2B                           First
2003         Buddy Bengel           P                            Second
                  Travis LaPointe       SS                            Second
2004         Patrick Egan             P                              First, Pitcher of the Year
                  Bryan Sabatella        1B                           First
                  Albert Marano          OF                           First
2005         Bryan Sabatella        1B                           First, Player of the Year
                  Tim Binkoski           OF                           First
                  Brian Magee             DH                          Second
                  Chris Wakefield       P                            Second
2006         John Delany              3B                           First
                  Tim Binkoski           OF                           First
                  Ryan Rizzo               OF                           First
                  Randy Gress             2B                           Second
                  Ricky Coppola         OF                           Second
2007         Tim Binkoski           OF                           First, Player of the Year
                  Randy Gress             2B                           First
                  John Delaney            3B                           First
                  Wilson Matos          SS                            Second
                  Ryan Rizzo               OF                           Second
2008         John Delaney           3B                           First
2009         Chris Gloor               P                              Second  
2010         Joe Poletsky             3B                              Second