Kelly Babstock and Borja Angoitia Tabbed 2014 Quinnipiac Athletes of the Year at Annual Awards Banquet

HAMDEN, Conn. – Senior Kelly Babstock (Mississauga, Ontario) and junior Borja Angoitia (Bilbao, Spain) were named the Female and Male Athletes of the Year on Sunday evening, as the Quinnipiac University Department of Athletics and Recreation hosted its annual Awards Banquet at the TD Bank Sports Center in Hamden. Senior Associate Athletic Director Billy Mecca and the Voice of the Bobcats Bill Schweizer served as the Masters of Ceremonies for the event.

Selected upon by administrators of the Quinnipiac Department of Athletics and Recreation, the Athlete of the Year award recognizes two student-athletes, one male and one female, who had outstanding seasons with their respective programs. Only athletes who are voted as their team’s Most Valuable Player are eligible for the award.

A unanimous selection for the award, women’s ice hockey senior Kelly Babstock was named Quinnipiac’s 2014 Female Athlete of the Year. She finished the season with the 8th-most points of any player in the nation and fourth-most of anyone in the ECAC Hockey. Her +32 plus/minus rating this season tied for the best mark of her career while she finished as just one of seven players in the nation to be ranked in the Top 10 points per game, Top 20 goals per game and Top 10 assists per game. She led the team with 13 multi-point games, all of which ended in victories for the Bobcats. Babstock was the first player in program history to earn CCM/AHCA All-America honors, while being named to the ECAC Hockey First Team and to the New England Division I All-Star team.

The highest scoring player the program has ever seen, Babstock finished her four-year career at Quinnipiac with 203 points (95 goals, 108 assists). Already the only 100-point scorer in Quinnipiac's women's hockey history, Babstock closed out her career as the program's record-holder in every offensive single-game and career scoring record. She is also just the third player in Quinnipiac ice hockey history (male or female) to reach 200 career points, finishing behind Chris Cerrella '01 (205 points) with the 2nd-most career points scored at Quinnipiac.

Also in undisputed fashion, men’s soccer junior Borja Angoitia was named Quinnipiac’s 2014 Male Athlete of the Year. Angoitia was the backbone of the men’s soccer team and its run through the MAAC Championships and into the NCAA Tournament. Angoitia posted a record of 7-4-7 and was 17th in the country with a .698 goals against average in 2013. Angoitia really shined in the MAAC Tournament where he had six saves in the match with Iona and five saves in the contest with Monmouth. In both matches, he made a crucial stop in the penalty kick shootout and also converted a penalty kick in each shootout himself. 

Angoitia was outstanding all season long, serving as the region’s best goalkeeper on one of the nation’s top defensive units. He set a new program record with 10 shutouts and finished second in QU single-season history with his goals against average and tied for sixth with a .843 save percentage. Angoitia was named the MAAC Goalkeeper of the Year, the MAAC Tournament Most Valuable Player and selected to the NSCAA All-North Atlantic Region team at the end of the season.

Quinnipiac's 2013-14 Team and Program MVP's

In addition to the evening’s top honors, the banquet also included several complementary recognitions and awards distributed to other groups within Quinnipiac Athletics. All Graduate Students within the Athletic Department were the recipients of the Behind the Scenes Award, an honor given to a group of individuals who has gone above and beyond for the Department of Athletics and Recreation in the past year. Graduate Students include: David Bartolotta, Andrew Benoit, Elena Bochicchio, Megan Brunelle, Bethany Buckholz, Ben Fan, Breann Frykas, Lauren Gastall, Alex Gerity, Janelle Joseph, Brian Kabel, Kortney Kesses, Phil Kobus, Megan McCreedy, Maxx McNall Molly McNeill, Mike Morgese, Jason Park, Leah Robson, Robert Roller, Jessica Scott, Kacey Shepherd, Danielle Silverstein, and Erin Sweeney.

The women’s ice hockey team earned the Positive Play Award, an accolade given to the Quinnipiac University athletic team that earned the most points in the Bobcats' Positive Play initiative, designed to encourage community involvement by the University's student-athletes.

Associate Director of Athletics/Recreation Center Tami Reilly and Associate Director of Intramurals Michael Medina concluded that segment with the presentation of their Student Employees of the Year (Kelly Murphy & Mike White), Athletes of the Years (Matt Modelson & Gaby Lesnett) and Official of the Year (Brendan McGroarty).

The ceremony also included presentations of all 21 Quinnipiac varsity athletic teams’ respective Most Valuable Player awards and academic accolades. Members of Quinnipiac Athletic Training, Sports Information, Recreation & Fitness and Intramurals and all spirit groups also announced their MVP's of the 2013-14 academic calendar.

Women’s cross country standout and men’s soccer goalkeeper Jason Vancura were the Senior Class recipients after posting grade point averages of 3.98 and 3.58, respectively. Matthew Lorenzetti of the baseball team accumulated a GPA of 3.98 and Catherine Toma of the acrobatics and tumbling team chimed in with a GPA of 3.94 to earn the top slots among all juniors; while the sophomore winners consisted of Jennifer Mears of the women’s soccer team (4.0) and Matthew Mensher of the men’s cross country team (4.0). Rounding out the segment was the freshmen class who had two student-athletes with a perfect 4.0 GPA: Angelina King of the women’s field hockey team and Derek Smith of the men’s ice hockey team.

Over 155 student-athletes were honored for their academic prowess as part of the Scholar-Athlete Recognition portion of the evening. Individuals were honored by school and recognized by the deans of the respective departments. The School of Business and Dean Matthew O'Connor recognized 43 scholar-athletes, Dean Lee Kamlet of the School of Communications recognized 25 scholar-athletes, the School of Health Sciences and Dean Kimberly Hartmann recognized 58 scholar-athletes, Dean Sean Duffy of the School of Arts and Sciences recognized 22 scholar-athletes and Dean Jean Lange of the School of Nursing recognized 10 scholar-athletes.